Random Fandom – Life Lessons

Placeholder ImageLast night I was watching the series 5 finale of Grey’s Anatomy. In this episode Meredith reminds us of how important it is to tell people how much you love them – whether it be with a hug or a kiss or by saying those three simple words! This is an important lesson to learn and it got me thinking about the other things I’ve learnt from TV shows over the years.
For example;
Gilmore Girls has taught me that a relationship with your mother is a relationship like no other – now, my Mum and I aren’t best friends like the two Lorelais but we certainly do have a special bond.
Friends has shown me that you can you can get through the highs and lows in life as long as you have a special group surrounding you – which, thankfully, I do!
How I Met Your Mother taught me that every story is worth finishing, no matter how long it might take.
The West Wing showed me that I should keep asking “What’s next?” – there’s always something more that we can be doing, we need to keep moving!
Buffy the Vampire Slayer tells me that I should always face my fears no matter how scary they are or how hard it is!
Parks and Recreation has shown me that with perseverance and teamwork you can achieve anything you put your mind to.
And Once Upon A Time has taught me that everyone needs a little bit of magic in their life!

These are just a few of the many lessons I have learnt in my life from the shows I love watching – of course most of these lessons I have also learnt in real life situations.
The fact that shows like these can have such powerful themes running through them, shows me just how influential television programmes of today can be. This makes me wonder, how many more lessons could we be teaching?

Just a little food for thought…

Until next time,
V x

Leave a Reply

